Menu Close


News from the congress…


Final conference program is now available!

The 15th International Basic Income Earth Network (BIEN) Congress will take place on 27-29 June 2014 in Montreal. The Congress brings together academics, activists, policy makers, political representatives, NGOs, and interested members of the general public to discuss and debate how introducing a universal and unconditional basic income relates to the theme of “Re-democratizing the Economy“

BIEN Congress 2014 will be preceded by a pre-conference day on 26th June 2014 for the 13th North America Basic Income Guarantee (NABIG) Congress, a joint meeting of the Basic Income Canada Network and the U.S. Basic Income Guarantee Network. The NABIG Day will focus on strategies to activate and implement a basic income policy in Canadian and United States jurisdictions.
Read more> 

Keynote Speakers


Executive Secretary, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)


Professor at the Universidad Torcuato Di Tella, Argentina and Leverhulme Trust Visiting Professor at University College London


President of the Self-Employed Women’s Association (SEWA), Bharat, India

Call for Papers

REVISED DEADLINE: All proposals (papers, panels, roundtables) should be received by Friday 31 January 2022 at the latest. Proposals received after the deadline may no longer be considered.

BIEN Congress 2014 invites proposals for individual papers, themed panels of up to three papers and discussion roundtables that cover any aspect of the justification, design or implementation of basic income. Preference will be given to those proposals that focus on how basic income might re-democratize the economy.


BIEN Congress 2014 is organized by the Basic Income Network Canada / Réseau Canadien pour le revenu garanti, in conjunction with the Executive Committee of the Basic Income Earth Network (BIEN), and hosted by the McGill Faculty of Law.

BICN Organizing Committee

  • Jurgen De Wispelaere, co-chair
  • Kelly Ernst, co-chair
  • Jenna van Dranen
  • Myron Frankman
  • Linda Lalonde
  • Jim Mulvale
  • Sharon Murphy
  • Tim Rourke

Advisory Committee

  • Daniel Weinstock, McGill University
  • Eleni Bakapanos, former MP
  • Francois Blais, University of Laval
  • Linda Coltman, Person with Lived Experience
  • Peter Dietsch, CRÉUM
  • Evelyn Forget, University of Manitoba
  • Dawnmarie Harriott, Working for Change
  • Kari Polanyi Levitt, Emeritus McGill University
  • Rob Rainer, The BIG Push